Band continues to perform well in area contests

Band Director Tony Paustian announced the results of the recent competition.  “Our students performed wonderfully and all represented the AHS and ASD communities with grace and professionalism,” said Paustian.  The Green River Music Educators Association region consists of all the high schools in Auburn, Kent, White River, Enumclaw and Tahoma. Students choose to participate in the contest as soloists or members of chamber ensembles and according to Paustian do “most of the preparation on their pieces themselves.”

Three of the entries were selected as division winners and will go on to compete with the best regional winners from the state of Washington.  The competition will be held at Central Washington University in Ellensberg.  The following division winners will compete: Junior Austin Clark, clarinet solo, Junior Kyle Guthrie, multiple percussion solo, and the Woodwind Quintet featuring Amber Muggy on flute, Elijah Green on the oboe, Blake Latham, horn, and Kendrick Smythe on the bassoon.

The Advanced Percussion Ensemble was selected as First Alternate in the Large Percussion Ensemble division and are also eligible to compete at state if the first place ensemble is unable to compete.

Full Results of the Entire Contest:


Junior Mikah Loomis – clarinet solo – Excellent Rating

Junior Austin Clark – clarinet solo – Superior Rating – Division Winner

Junior Kyle Guthrie – multiple percussion solo – Superior Rating – Division Winner

Sophomore Jessica Harding – bass clarinet solo – Excellent Rating

Junior Dani Mae Hutson – tenor sax solo – Excellent Rating



AHS Gold Sax Quartet – Superior Rating

                Forrest Schmeling, Diveta Velte, Dani Mae Hutson, Ted Sandberg

AHS Clarinet Choir – Superior Rating

Samantha Blake, Abbey Brown, Kady Charles, Austin Clark, Mark Haycook, Mikah Loomis, Kami Macias, Judah Stelzer, Mariah Valles, Jessica Harding, Octayvia Knight, Ashley Gosser

AHS Gold Percussion Ensemble – Superior Rating – First Alternate in division

                Bailey Bernstine, Colton DeCarteret, Kyle Guthrie, Isaac Jones, Austin Lane, Lexie Smith, Troy Ugaddan

AHS Woodwind Quintet – Superior Rating – Division Winner

                Amber Muggy, Elijah Green, Mikah Loomis, Blake Latham, Kendrick Smythe

AHS Green Percussion Ensemble – Excellent Rating

                Colton DeCarteret, Sean Ross, Isaac Jones, Sergio Diosdado, John McHugh

AHS Green Sax Quartet – Excellent Rating

                Athena Adams, Kailey Cronk, Keoni McMahon, Kylie Syslo